in Frieze | 12 FEB 20

Color and Production: Revealing a New Collaboration with Collective Design

Curated by Libby Sellers, this digital exhibition traces the development of colour in art and design, from an illuminated manuscript to contemporary figures working with pre-industrial materials

in Frieze | 12 FEB 20

Frieze Viewing Room (New York 2020 edition) will feature a special exhibition organized by Collective Design and curated by Libby Sellers,. Tracing the technological developments of color within the fields of design and art, this special exhibition features iconic 20th-century and contemporary design, and marks the first exhibition dedicated to design at Frieze. 

Bruno Munari

The drive to discover, exploit and transform materials into color has been central to artistic practice since pigment was first applied to cave walls. So many of the colors we experience today are, however, not from nature but from industry. The exhibition seeks to chart this flow in order to explore how color has been deployed, detached and liberated from such forces. -Libby Sellers

‘Color and Production: From the Atom to the Void’ will be presented as part of Frieze’s celebrated anchor program of collaborations, exhibitions and talks. Historical, modern and contemporary design objects and artworks will trace the developments of color in both art and design, from an illuminated manuscript to a timely look at contemporary designers and artists that are turning back to pre- industrial materials.

Participating New York and European design galleries include Friedman Benda, Galerie Kreo, Giustini Stagetti, Volume Gallery, Donzella, Hostler Burrows, Established & Sons, Gabrielle Ammann and Urban Architecture with works by Ettore Sottsass, Shiro Kuramata, Hella Jongerius, Gaetano Pesce, Maarten Baas and Formafantasma.

Art galleries participating in the exhibition include David Zwirner, Sean Kelly Gallery, Andrew Kreps, Massimo De Carlo, Ingleby and Bortolami with diverse works in various media by Joseph Albers, Bertrand Lavier, Josef Kosuth, David Batchelor, Bruno Munari, Donald Judd, Sheila Hicks and Dan Flavin.