in Collaborations | 15 JAN 23

Learn More About the Deutsche Bank Frieze Los Angeles Film Award 2023

Watch online the films shortlisted for the Audience Award 2023

in Collaborations | 15 JAN 23
Join Frieze Become a member to watch this video and gain unlimited access to

Watch the films VOTE NOW

The Deutsche Bank Frieze Los Angeles Film Award 2023 is realized in partnership with global film and TV studio FIFTH SEASON and acclaimed non-profit academy Ghetto Film School. Now in its fourth year, the initiative provides a platform and development program for next generation of Los Angeles based filmmakers aged between 18 – 34.

The nine filmmakers, Aidan Bae, Matthew Cotom, Shandrea Evans, Eugina Gelbelman, Irene Gil-Ramon, Tiffany Lin, Jessica Liu, Byron Mason II, and Malik Sims shortlisted for the Award have undertaken a rigorous three-month program led by Ghetto Film School to produce individual short films exploring the meaning of ‘identity’ and its representation in film.

A jury comprised of leading figures in the arts and entertainment industry will select the Jury Award winner and the public will be able to cast their votes and nominate their winner for the Audience Award. The Jury Award winner will receive a $10,000 prize and the Audience Award winner will receive a prize of $2,500. The winners will be announced during Frieze Los Angeles 2023.

Voting for the Audience Award opens on January 15, 2023, and will run until February, 12, 2023.

Watch the films

Vote for your favourite film here

Look back at previous years and find out more about the Award here

Previous winners of the Deutsche Bank Frieze Los Angeles Film Award have been, Silvia Lara in 2019,  John Rizkallah and Jane Chow in 2021, Diante Singley and Adham Elnashai in 2022