Fred Moten & Harmony Holiday, Episode 2: Distance

The second in a new monthly series in which the poets and music enthusiasts share the records and texts that are on their minds

Thursday 19 November
7pm GMT/2pm EST/11am PST

 

Episode 2: Distance 

Frieze’s Autumn Listening Sessions are hosted by the poet, performer, jazz archivist and frieze columnist  Harmony Holiday  and poet, cultural theorist and 2020 MacArthur Fellow  Fred Moten. From their living rooms in LA and New York, respectively, the pair continue a longstanding, free-flowing exchange of words, records and reflections. 

For the second episode in their three-part series, Fred & Harmony will play and discuss music and poetry that creates space. 


Episode 2 Track List

Kendrick Lamar  Sing About Me, I’m Dying of Thirst
Sam Cooke Nearer to Thee (Live recording at Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles, 1955)  
Stevie Wonder  Seems So Long 
Luther Vandross Never Too Much
Bela Fleck Ah Ndiya
Caetano Veloso and Edith Oliveira Sugar Cane Fields Forever 
Aquele Abraço Gilberto Gil
Jimmy Holiday Hollywood
Marlena Shaw So Far Away
Terry Callier Just My Imagination
Gwendolyn Brooks The Near-Johannesburg Boy (Live reading, c.2000)  

Full track list available here

Read Sean Burns on Music That Makes Space with Fred Moten and Harmony Holiday.

Episode 3 will take place on Thursday 17 Dec (registration to follow)

The full recording of Episode 1: Quietness, from 22 October 2020, is available to view HERE.