Listening with Fred Moten & Harmony Holiday

The first in a new monthly series in which the poets and music enthusiasts share the records and texts that are on their minds

Thursday 22 October
7pm BST/2pm EST/11am PST

 

Episode 1: Quietness Recording

Frieze’s Autumn Sessions will be hosted by the poet, performer, jazz archivist and frieze columnist Harmony Holiday and poet, cultural theorist and 2020 MacArthur Fellow Fred Moten.

In a series of three online Listening Sessions broadcast from their living rooms in LA and New York, respectively, the pair will continue their longstanding, free-flowing exchange of words and music. In each of three monthly episodes, they will share new, old and unexpected records, read from their own work and writing that inspires them, and discuss how poetry and music can help us make sense of the world around us.  

In Episode 1: Fred & Harmony reflect on records and readings that help us find quietness when we need it and abandon it when we need to be loud.


Episode 1 Track List:

Billie Holiday Studio Talk
James Baldwin on Black Speech 
Marvin Gaye Cleo's Apartment 
Carmen McRae Don’t Explain
Amiri Baraka Dark Lady of the Sonnets 
Willie West Greatest Love 
Al Green Simply Beautiful
Mary J Blige PMS
Ornette Coleman Beauty is a Rare Thing
Ellington & Coltrane In a Sentimental Mood
Thelonius Monk Ask Me Now
John Keats Ode on a Grecian Urn (read by Ralph Richardson)
Sun Ra Quiet Ecstasy


Future Autumn Sessions

Episode 2
Thursday 19 Nov
7pm BST/2pm EST/11am PST 

Episode 3
Thursday 17 Dec
7pm BST/2pm EST/11am PST