in Frieze | 04 MAY 16

Frieze New York Stand Prize Winners

Galerie Gisela Capitain, Cologne, and Instituto De Visión, Bogotá win prize

in Frieze | 04 MAY 16

The Frieze Stand Prize 2016 has been awarded to two outstanding presentations in the main section of the fair. In keeping with Frieze’s support of younger galleries, one of the prizes is presented to a gallery less than 12 years of age.

A jury of international institutional curators and directors awarded Galerie Gisela Capitain's 'museum-quality presentation', which showed a 'deep commitment to artists of different generations but a strong contemporary resonance'. The presentation included works by Barbara Bloom, Gillian Carnegie, Günther Förg, Luke Fowler, Anna Gaskell, Martin Kippenberger, Zoë Leonard, Meuser, Albert Oehlen, Seth Price and Christopher Williams. The jurors added that 'the quality of the work selected was amplified by the curatorial sensibility bought to bear across the whole stand.'

Gisela Capitain speaking to Tate director Nicholas Serota at her Frieze New York booth, 2016; photograph: Mark Blower

Instituto De Visión brought a group presentation representing sculpture, installation, painting and documents with artists Pia Camil, Wilson Díaz, Otto Berchem and Alberto Baraya. Collectively, the works address tensions that have arisen from the historical construct of the tropics being a place of desire, leisure and mysticism. 

Instituto De Visión, Bogotá; photograph: Mark Blower

A special commendation has gone to Stevenson, Cape Town and Johannesburg, for their survey of Moshekwa Langa.

This year’s jurors included Suzanne Cotter, Director, Serralves Museum, Porto; Reto Thüring, Curator of Contemporary Art, Cleveland Museum of Art; and Philippe Pirotte, Curator, la Biennale de Montréal 2016, and Director of Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main. Frieze New York 2016 opens to the public tomorrow, featuring over 200 galleries, and offering a discerning perspective on contemporary art. The fifth edition is sponsored by Deutsche Bank for the fifth consecutive year, celebrating a shared commitment to discovery.