Digital Event - GRAY: Rashid Johnson's Seeing in the Dark series, with Art Historian Shelley Rice

Virtual Tour

9th October 2020
5pm - 5:45pm BST, 12pm - 12:45pm EST

Please join GRAY for a zoom webinar featuring art historian Shelley Rice speaking on Rashid Johnson’s pivotal Seeing in the Dark photography series. Rice will discuss Johnson’s use of antiquated nineteenth-century photographic processes to create striking, painterly and dignified portraits of Chicago’s homeless, as well as the series’ historical and conceptual context.

Rice is Professor at NYU, with a joint appointment between the Photography and Imaging Department, the Art History Department and the Institute of Fine Arts. She has received numerous awards and written extensively on photography. Zoom webinar: October 9th at 12pm EST.


Please note that this event has now passed.

Registration Required - please register through this link: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZAkceqhqDIsG9JyLqBCXgh5KqVmea…
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Via Zoom. October 9th at 5pm BST/12pm EST/11am CST.

Rashid Johnson (b. 1977), Jonathan (Seeing in the Dark Series), 1999. Gelatin silver print, 10 1/2 x 13 1/4 inches (26.7 x 33.7 cm). Photo Tom Van Eynde, courtesy Richard Gray Gallery, Chicago/New York.